Your say | Opinion | Times Crest
Popular on Times Crest
  • In This Section
  • Entire Website
  • The Imphal Taliban
    July 13, 2013
    Manipur's police force have begun arresting young men for accessing sleazy content on their phones and in cyber cafes. Even the romantic SMS to…
  • It's time we moved mountains
    July 6, 2013
    Lamenting the tragedy of Uttarakhand isn't enough, we need to set up a commission to manage natural hazards, says KS Valdiya.
  • I wanted to create the age of innocence that was…
    July 6, 2013
    Vikramaditya Motwane is reworking O Henry's short story 'The Last Leaf' for his second film, 'Lootera'.
More in this Section
Profiles
Leaving tiger watching to raise rice Ecologist Debal Deb, who did his post-doctoral research from IISc in…
The crorepati writer He's the man who gives Big B his lines. RD Tailang, the writer of KBC.
Chennai-Toronto express Review Raja is a Canadian enthusiast whose quirky video reviews of Tamil…
Don't parrot, perform Maestro Buddhadev Dasgupta will hold a masterclass on ragas.
A man's man Shivananda Khan spent his life speaking up for men who have sex with men.
Bhowmick and the first family of Indian football At first glance, it would be the craziest set-up in professional football.
From Times Blogs
The end of Detroit
Jobs in Detroit's car factories are moving to India.
Chidanand Rajghatta
How I love the word ‘dobaara’...
Can ‘bindaas’ or ‘jhakaas’ survive transliteration?
Shobhaa De
Anand marte nahin...
India's first superstar died almost a lonely life.
Robin Roy
Comment

Your say




Dipping standards
I have been a subscriber of Times Crest for a little over six months and mostly find it fun to read. However, I note that the depth of the stories being covered by you is reducing e. g. your cover story on the Indian housewife. It was about the affluent urban housewife and not about the average Indian housewife. What about the large number of rural women who have to double up as bread earners and housewives? Can a story on the Indian housewife be complete without an in-depth study of their plight and their achievements across social strata?
Virendra Goel, via email


Honesty be damned

'Where does the buck stop?' by Anil Dhar ( March 19), rightly focuses on the all-pervasive corruption in our country. We have reached a stage where people are losing faith in the system. The nation is gripped by a crisis of confidence. Everybody seems to be engaged in the competitive pursuit of material gains by any means. Character building has to begin in homes and schools. Only then can we have good bureaucrats, politicians, and others. Sadly, in our country, honesty does not pay.
S Shankar Singh, via email


Liberate Libya

This is with reference to 'Time for Tripoli' ( March 12 ). US President Barack Obama is adopting a cautious approach in handling the uprisings in North Africa and the Middle East. America, the world leader, has had a bitter experience in heralding a democratic era in Iraq. Its experience is also not very different in Afghanistan, Lebanon, Somalia and Bosnia. But ultimately, Western Powers adopted a UN Security Council resolution to authorise military action in Libya. It is beyond one's comprehension why India abstained on this issue.
VR Savarkar, Pune

Reader's opinion (4)

Bimal MohantyMay 3rd, 2011 at 18:40 PM

1.How does one post articles?
2. 300 characters make too little space for meaningful comments and view points.-bimal-mohanty@vsnl.com

Bimal MohantyMay 2nd, 2011 at 12:37 PM

300 characters gives too little space for constructive comments or for a new post. You may like to recondider- Sri Bimal Mohanty 2.5.11

Bimal MohantyMay 2nd, 2011 at 12:34 PM

This is not fancy meandering but borne out of experience of sadhaks from thousands of years. People who have developed this consciousness are often seen to lead a contented life with all their basic needs miraculously taken care of . They live in great peace of mind, content with their inner self (a

Sarnavo DasMar 28th, 2011 at 13:53 PM

'Mortal comeback' written by Diya Banerjee, which appeared in the edition of 28th march 2011 was a compelling read!My own observation on this issue is that we just can't laugh away these parapsychological phenomenas.I would suggest sceptics to read 'Life Beyond Death' by Swami Abhedananda.

 
Other Times Group news sites
The Times of India | The Economic Times
इकनॉमिक टाइम्स | ઈકોનોમિક ટાઈમ્સ
Mumbai Mirror | Times Now
Indiatimes | नवभारत टाइम्स
महाराष्ट्र टाइम्स
Living and entertainment
Timescity | iDiva | Bollywood | Zoom
| Technoholik | MensXP.com

Networking

itimes | Dating & Chat | Email
Hot on the Web
Hotklix
Services
Book print ads | Online shopping | Business solutions | Book domains | Web hosting
Business email | Free SMS | Free email | Website design | CRM | Tenders | Remit
Cheap air tickets | Matrimonial | Ringtones | Astrology | Jobs | Property | Buy car
Online Deals
About us | Advertise with us | Terms of Use and Grievance Redressal Policy | Privacy policy | Feedback
Copyright© 2010 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service